Pontarlier
>>
Home
>
Nature trail
>
Pontarlier
Pontarlier

Pontarlier

History & heritage
Easy
2h
5,1km
+89m
-89m
Circular
PR® (Walking & hiking trail)
Embed this item to access it offline

Roaming along the roads of the historical centre, this city tour will take you on a discovery of Pontarlier’s emblematic locations: architectural, historical and symbolic city buildings, the banks of the Doubs and a viewpoint over the city.

A commercial crossing point and a former military barrier, with a landscape marked by religion and a medieval past, as the capital of absinthe, Pontarlier has no shortage of History and character in every corner.


15 points of interest
History & Heritage

Pontarlier

The history of Pontarlier is built around its advantageous geographical location: a crossroads during the Middle Ages between the North Sea and the Mediterranean Sea, it benefitted from passing trade but also suffered from military invasions. With many forests and a large amount of iron ore, this town was built on farming and craftmanship. Its border location enabled a constant flow of goods, people, know-how and capital. The opening of absinthe distilleries, sometimes in collaboration with Switzerland, generated a period of great prosperity in terms of the town’s development and cultural identity. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville, “A tour of the town”)

read more
History & Heritage

La Poste brewery

A former coach house, to which it owes its name, the La Poste brewery received the 20th Century Heritage label for its Art-Deco style. It is also famous for having been the place where “Septième Juré” starring Bernard Blier and “Les Granges Brûlées” starring Simone Signoret and Alain Delon were both filmed. (PNRH - Un tour en ville, “A tour of the town”)

read more
History & Heritage

Place d’Arçon

At the heart of the historic centre is the vast expanse offered by the Place d’Arçon where the town hall and the Pontarlier museum are both located. The first was completed in 1838 and originally housed an indoor market on the ground floor. The museum is located in one of the city’s oldest buildings, a combination of three houses, the oldest of which dates back to the 15th century. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville, “A tour of the town”)

read more
History & Heritage

The Annonciades Chapel

The congregation of Les Annonciades Célestes de Pontarlier was established in 1609 by six young women from Pontarlier. The monastery’s baroque-style door, created by the sculptor Joseph Guyon, can still be admired. Its portal, which has been classed a historical monument, was completed in 1715 based on the plans set out by Nicolas Callier, an architect and entrepreneur from Besançon, and was later modified during the 19th century. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville, “A tour of the town”)
read more
History & Heritage

The Saint-Pierre entrance

Built in 1771 based on the design of the knight d’Arçon, to replace the entrance across the ramparts, the Saint-Pierre entrance is now one of the symbols of Pontarlier. Remodelled during the 12th century, it has kept its classical style and is listed on the Supplementary Inventory of Historical Monuments. Adorned with lines reminiscent of the Arc de Triomphe, the entrance appears like a crown atop the rue de la République and marks a symbolic transition from the more contemporary districts and the historic centre. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville, “A tour of the town”)

read more
History & Heritage

B. Blier theatre

During the early 20th century, the theatre was built as a reception hall above the Pontarlier market-hall. These market-halls are reminiscent of the large fairs that have been held in the city since the 13th century. During the 14th century, these fairs experienced a boom when the Col de Jougne (15 km south) became a commercial crossing point between the North Sea and the Mediterranean. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville, “A tour of the town”)

read more
History & Heritage

The Marguet barracks

These barracks, which were built with some of the money allocated by Louis XV to reconstruct Pontarlier after the fire in 1736, could house up to 200 men and just as many horses. The two L-shaped buildings were linked by a huge door, however, the municipality refused to close the square on the other side. This place was therefore split between a place of armament and a public place. In 1922, the door was removed, to allow for better circulation. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville, “A tour of the town”)

read more
History & Heritage

Armand Guy distillery

Armand Guy distillery, now known as Pierre Guy, was founded in 1890 and is classed as a Living Heritage Enterprise. Much like Maison Pernod, it is passed down through the family, with four generations having already been at the reins. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville, “A tour of the town”)

read more
Lakes & Rivers

The Doubs and the Loue

In 1901, the Pernod factory - the largest absinthe distillery in the town - fell victim to a fire. With the alcohol reserves representing a risk of explosion, an employee decided to empty the reservoirs into the Doubs. Legend would have it that the merry inhabitants would drink the water straight from the river. However, these events led to a hydrological discovery: the first colouration in history. We discovered that the Loue was a resurgence of the Doubs, as it waters had taken on the same murky colour and aniseed smell.

read more
History & Heritage

The old auditorium

From 1743 to 1867, Druhen-Vandel house served as a courthouse - then referred to as an auditorium - and a prison. Here, Mirabeau was tried for “seduction, abduction and adultery” and was acquitted after pleading on his own behalf. The building itself was built based on Louis Girod’s design and is constructed around an internal courtyard adorned with a turret. This is a fine example of the architecture of its time. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville, “A tour of the town”)

read more
History & Heritage

Saint-Étienne hospital

Founded and funded by the nuns during the 12th century, Saint-Joseph hospital was partially destroyed during the Ten-Year War. The hospital is not only of historic interest, it also has two unique chapels - one in the baroque style, the other in Byzantine style - and a beautiful apothecary. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville, “A tour of the town”)

read more
History & Heritage

Saint-Bénigne church

Having been rebuilt on several occasions, after the village was taken by Bernard of Saxe-Weimar and later after two fires, the Saint-Bénigne church is difficult to date; however, one document does prove that it existed during the 12th century. Inside, the church has many remarkable glass windows and sculptures. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville, “A tour of the town”)

read more
History & Heritage

Notre-Dame de l’Espérance chapel

Designed by architect Girod in neo-gothic style, this chapel was built on Mount Molar during the 19th century on the orders of the priest Lallemand, to thank the Virgin for having protected Pontarlier from the cholera epidemic that had spread to Franche-Comté. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville, “A tour of the town”)

read more
History & Heritage

The train station

The train station was created following the opening of the Franco-Swiss line, which was a major asset for development in a region in which the road network was not yet fully operational. As a result, there was a bitter fight between Dole and Besançon for the railhead. Ultimately, this fight was won by the Jura and in 1860, the first stretch between Neuchâtel and Pontarlier was inaugurated. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville, “A tour of the town”)

read more
History & Heritage

Philippe Grenier secondary school

Philippe Grenier, a native of Pontarlier, lived from 1865 to 1944. He is remembered by locals for having been a doctor to the poor, but also for having been the first Muslim member of the French Parliament, elected to the Chamber of Deputies in 1896. Philippe Grenier was therefore a Muslim in a Catholic country, promoting a lifestyle without the consumption of alcohol in the land of absinthe, and yet respected for his integrity and devotion to the most disadvantaged. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville, “A tour of the town”)

read more

Description

From the Tourist Office (Toilette), descend rue de la Gare to rue de la République.
Head to Place d’Arçon, on your left. From here, you can see the Saint-Pierre gate at the end of the road.
From the square, take rue de la Halle near the theatre. At the end of the road, head to the old barracks via place des Bernardines and place Cretin, on your right.
Go to the bridge across the Doubs by heading through place Jules Pagnier and rue de Morteau.
From here, make a round trop (1.2 km) to the Armand Guy distillery via rue des Lavaux.
On returning to rue de Morteau, enter the park on the edge of the Doubs and follow the embankments on a little adapted path; this will take you to the other side of the park. Join up with rue de la République by leaving the park through rue Julez Mathez, where you will find the Jeanne d’Arc high school.  
On arriving at rue de la République, head left until you reach another bridge over the Doubs.
From here, make a round trip to the Hospital to observe its facade and the two chapels that can be seen from the road.
On returning to rue de la République, after crossing the bridge once more, head down rue Montrieux and take rue Gambetta on your right to reach place Saint-Bénigne and the church.
From the square, head to the train station vie rue Tissot.
From here, you can head directly to the Tourist Office via rue de la Gare. You can also make a round trip of under 2 km to the Chapelle de l’Espérance, with a stunning viewpoint over the whole city. It can be accessed by heading down rocade George Pompidou until you come to rue du Stand, then head under the railway and take rue de la Chapelle (yellow waymarking) directly to the viewpoint.
Departure : Tourist Office, Pontarlier
Arrival : Tourist Office, Pontarlier
Towns crossed : Pontarlier

Recommandations

This discovery trail unfolds in an urban environment and carries hikers along pavements and pedestrian crossings.
The trip to the chapel is taken via a tarmac road, however due to the unlevel ground, access is difficult for pushchairs and Joëlettes.
Most parking spaces in the town centre may be in the blue zone, you will therefore need to obtain a parking disc.
Do not hesitate to visit the town’s Tourist Office, located at 14 bis rue de la Gare.


Information desks

Tourist information centre - Pontarlier

14 bis rue de la Gare, F-25300 Pontarlier

http://www.pontarlier.org/

+33 (0)3 81 46 48 33

Find out more

Transport

To visit and get about in the High-Jura, visit www.reshaut-jura.fr, the eco-mobility portal listing all means of transport within the Park.


Access and parking

Pontarlier is accessible via the N57, the D47, the D437, the D67B and the D72.

Parking :

Tourist office parking lot

Accessibility

Joëlettes (all-terrain one-wheeled chairs)
Pushchairs

More information


Report a problem or an error

If you have found an error on this page or if you have noticed any problems during your hike, please report them to us here:

Pontarlier
Pontarlier

Pontarlier

Histoire et Patrimoine
Facile
2h
5,1km
+89m
-89m
Boucle
PR®
Embarquer cet élément afin d'y avoir accès hors connexion
En déambulant à travers les rues du centre historique, ce tour en ville vous révèlera les lieux emblématiques de Pontarlier : bâtiments architecturaux, historiques et symboliques de la ville, en passant par les berges du Doubs et par un point de vue sur les hauteurs de la ville.
Point de passage commercial et ancien verrou militaire, paysage marqué par la religion, passé médiéval, capitale de l'absinthe, Pontarlier ne manque pas d'Histoire et de caractère à chaque coin de rue.

Les 15 patrimoines à découvrir
Histoire et Patrimoine

Pontarlier

L'histoire de Pontarlier a été crée par sa situation géographique avantageuse : point de passage au Moyen-Âge entre la mer du Nord et la Méditerranée, elle bénéficie du transit commercial mais pâtit des invasions militaires. Riche de forêts et de minerai de fer, la ville se construit sur l'agriculture et l'artisanat. Sa situation frontalière a permis la circulation constante de biens, de personnes, de savoirs-faire, de capitaux. L'ouverture des distilleries d'absinthe, parfois en collaboration avec la suisse, a crée une période de prospérité importante pour le développement et l'identité culturelle de la ville. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville)
lire la suite
Histoire et Patrimoine

La brasserie La Poste

Autrefois relais de diligence, d'où son nom, la brasserie La Poste a obtenu le label Patrimoine du XXème siècle pour sa salle de style Art Déco. Elle est également célèbre pour avoir accueilli le tournage du Septième Juré avec Bernard Blier et celui des Granges brûlées avec Simone Signoret et Alain Delon. (PNRH - Un tour en ville)
lire la suite
Histoire et Patrimoine

Place d'Arçon

Au coeur du centre historique, on trouve sur le vaste dégagement de la place d'Arçon l'hôtel de ville et le musée de Pontarlier. Le premier a été achevé en 1838 et abritait, à l'origine, un marché couvert en son rez-de-chaussée. Quant au musée, il se trouve dans l'une des plus vieilles demeures de la ville, regroupant en réalité trois maisons dont la plus ancienne date du XVème siècle. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville)
lire la suite
Histoire et Patrimoine

Chapelle des Annonciades

La congrégation des Annonciades Célestes de Pontarlier est établie en 1609 par six jeunes pontissaliennes. On peut encore admirer la porte de style baroque, oeuvre du sculpteur Joseph Guyon, qui ornait le couvent. Son portail, classé aux monuments historiques, est achevé en 1715 sur les plans de Nicolas Callier, architecte et entrepreneur bisontin, puis il est partiellement remanié au XIXème siècle. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville)
lire la suite
Histoire et Patrimoine

La porte Saint-Pierre

Construite en 1771 sur les plans du chevalier d'Arçon, en remplacement de celle qui traversait les remparts, la porte Saint-Pierre est aujourd'hui un des emblèmes de Pontarlier. Refaite au XIXème siècle, elle a conservé son style classique et figure à l'inventaire supplémentaire des monuments historiques. Avec ses lignes rappelant un arc-de-triomphe, elle semble couronner la rue de la République et marque un passage symbolique entre les quartiers contemporains et le centre historique. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville)
lire la suite
Histoire et Patrimoine

Le théâtre Bernard Blier

À sa création, au début du XXème siècle, le théâtre est une salle des fêtes que l'on bâtit au-dessus des halles de Pontarlier. Leur évocation rappelle les foires très importantes qui se tiennent en ville depuis le XIIIème siècle. Au XIVème siècle, elles sont en plein essor, alors que le col de Jougne (à 15 km au sud) est devenu un point de passage de la voie commerciale reliant la mer du Nord et la Méditerranée. ( PNRHJ - Un tour en ville)
lire la suite
Histoire et Patrimoine

Les casernes Marguet

Les casernes, construites avec une part de la somme allouée par Louis XV pour la reconstruction de Pontarlier après l'incendie de 1736, pouvait abriter jusqu'à 200 hommes et autant de chevaux. Les deux bâtiments en "L" étaient reliés par une porte monumentale, mais la municipalité refusa de fermer la place de l'autre côté, celle-ci fut donc à la fois place d'armes et place publique. En 1922, la porte disparut également, afin de faciliter la circulation. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville)
lire la suite
Histoire et Patrimoine

La distillerie Armand Guy

La distillerie Armand Guy, aujourd'hui Pierre Guy, fondée en 1890, est classée Entreprise du Patrimoine Vivant. Elle s'inscrit, tout comme la maison Pernod, dans un modèle de transmission familiale, puisque quatre générations s'y sont déjà succédées. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville)
lire la suite
Lacs et Rivières

Le Doubs et la Loue

En 1901, l'usine Pernod, la plus grande distillerie d'absinthe de la ville, fut frappée par un incendie. Les réserves d'alcool risquant de provoquer une explosion, un employé pris la décision de vider les cuves dans le Doubs. On raconte que les habitants, festifs, buvaient à même l'eau de la rivière. Mais cet événement permit une découverte hydrologique : la première coloration de l'histoire. On découvrit que la rivière de la Loue était une résurgence du Doubs, ses eaux ayant pris la même couleur trouble et une odeur anisée.
lire la suite
Histoire et Patrimoine

L'ancien auditoire

La maison Druhen-Vandel fit office de Palais de Justice, on disait alors auditoire, et de prison, de 1743 à 1867. C'est là que Mirabeau fut jugé pour "séduction, rapt et adultère" et qu'il fut acquitté à la suite de sa propre plaidoirie. Quant au bâtiment, construit sur les plans de Louis Girod, il est réparti autour d'une cour intérieure habillée d'une tourelle et représente un bel ensemble architectural typique de son époque. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville)
lire la suite
Histoire et Patrimoine

L'hôpital Saint-Étienne

Fondé et financé par les religieuses au XIIème siècle, l'hôpital de Saint-Joseph est partiellement détruit au cours de la Guerre de Dix Ans. L'intéret patrimonial de l'hôpital n'est pas qu'historique, il réside également dans la singularité de ses deux chapelles, l'une baroque, l'autre byzantine, et dans sa très belle apothicairerie. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville)
lire la suite
Histoire et Patrimoine

L' église Saint-Bénigne

Reconstruite à plusieurs reprises, après la prise de la ville par Bernard de Saxe Weimar, puis à la suite de deux incendies, l'église Saint-Bénigne est difficile à dater, toutefois un document atteste de son existence à partir du XIIème siècle. À l'intérieur, l'église comporte de nombreux vitraux et sculptures remarquables. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville)
lire la suite
Histoire et Patrimoine

La chapelle Notre-Dame de l'Espérance

Conçue par l'architecte Girod dans un style néo-gothique, cette chapelle est érigée sur le mont Molar au XIXème siècle à l'initiative du curé Lallemand, en remerciement à la Vierge pour avoir protégé Pontarlier de l'épidémie de choléra qui affecte alors la Franche-Comté. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville)
lire la suite
Histoire et Patrimoine

La gare

La création de la gare est liée à l'ouverture de la ligne franco-suisse, qui constituait un atout important pour le développement du territoire, alors que le réseau routier n'était encore que peu exploitable. C'est pourquoi, entre Dole et Besançon, la lutte fut âpre pour se voir attribuer la tête de ligne. C'est finalement la jurassienne qui l'emporte et l'on inaugure, en 1860, le premier tronçon Neuchâtel - Pontarlier. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville)
lire la suite
Histoire et Patrimoine

Le collège Philippe Grenier

Philippe Grenier, natif de Pontarlier, vécut de 1865 à 1944. Il demeure dans la mémoire locale pour avoir été le médecin des pauvres, mais aussi en tant que premier député de France de confession musulmane, élu à la Chambre en 1896. Philippe Grenier devint ainsi musulman en pays catholique, prônant la non-consommation d'alccol au royaume de l'absinthe et cependant respecté pour son intégrité et son dévouement envers les plus démunis. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville)
lire la suite

Description

Depuis l'Office de Tourisme, descendre la rue de la Gare pour arriver à la rue de la République.
Rejoindre la Place d'Arçon qui se trouve alors sur la gauche. D'ici, on peut voir la porte Saint-Pierre au bout de la rue.
Depuis la place, prendre la rue de la Halle où se trouve le théâtre. Arrivés au bout de la rue, rejoindre les anciennes casernes par la place des Bernardines et la place Cretin, situées sur la droite.
Rejoindre le pont qui traverse le Doubs par la place Jules Pagnier et la rue de Morteau.
D'ici, faire l'aller-retour (1,2 km) jusqu'à la distillerie Armand Guy par la rue des Lavaux.
De retour rue de Morteau, entrer dans le parc qui se trouve au bord du Doubs et longer les berges par un petit chemin aménagé, qui vous conduira de l'autre coté du parc. Rejoindre la rue de la République en quittant le parc par la rue Jules Mathez, où se trouve le lycée Jeanne d'Arc.  
Arrivés à la rue de la République, prendre à gauche jusqu'à un autre pont qui traverse le Doubs.
D'ici, faire l'aller-retour jusqu'à l'Hôpital pour observer sa façade ainsi que celle des deux chapelles visibles depuis la rue.
De retour sur la rue de la République après avoir traversé une nouvelle fois le pont, descendre la rue Montrieux et prendre la rue Gambetta qui se trouve alors sur la droite, afin de rejoindre la place Saint-Bénigne, où se trouve l'église.
Depuis la place, rejoindre la gare par la rue Tissot.
D'ici, il est possible de rejoindre directement l'Office de Tourisme par la rue de la Gare. Une autre option est de faire un aller-retour d'un peu moins de 2 km jusqu'à la Chapelle de l'Espérance, qui offre un très beau point de vue sur toute la ville. Elle est accessible en descendant la rocade George Pompidou jusqu'à la rue du Stand qui permet de passer sous la voie ferrovière, puis la rue de la Chapelle (balisage jaune) mène directement au point de vue.
Départ : Office de Tourisme, Pontarlier
Arrivée : Office de Tourisme, Pontarlier
Communes traversées : Pontarlier

Recommandations

Ce sentier de découverte s'inscrit dans un milieu urbain et amène à emprunter les trottoirs et les passages piétons.
L'aller-retour jusqu'à la chapelle se fait par une route goudronnée, mais le dénivelé rend l'accès aux poussettes et aux joëlettes difficile.
Les places de parking du centre-ville peuvent être en zone bleue, un disque de stationnement est donc à prévoir.
N'hésitez pas à vous rendre à l'Office de Tourisme de la ville, situé au 14 bis rue de la Gare.

Lieux de renseignement

Office de Tourisme de Pontarlier

14 bis rue de la Gare, F-25300 Pontarlier

http://www.pontarlier.org/

+33 (0)3 81 46 48 33

En savoir plus

Accès routiers et parkings

Pontarlier est accessible par la N57, la D47, la D437, la D67B et la D72.

Stationnement :

Parking de l'Office de Tourisme

Accessibilité

Joëlette
Poussette

Signaler un problème ou une erreur

Vous avez repéré une erreur sur cette page ou constaté un problème lors de votre randonnée, signalez-les nous ici :