Divonne-les-Bains
>>
Home
>
Nature trail
>
Divonne-les-Bains
Divonne-Les-Bains

Divonne-les-Bains

History & heritage
Easy
1h30
4,2km
+43m
-43m
Circular
PR® (Walking & hiking trail)
Embed this item to access it offline

From its centre loaded with history, to its architect villas and emblematic buildings, this tour around the town will lead you to the adapted surroundings of Divonne lake, with a view over the Alps.

Hello, source of mysterious origin, sacred,
nourishing, eternal,
transparent, green, deep, singing, clear, shaded!
Hello, town engineer, healing beverage,
Divona in Celtic, source of divine order!”
(Ausome, 4th century poet, after whom one of the many sources was named).


18 points of interest
History & Heritage

Divonne-les-Bains

Thermal towns, run as companies, have on occasion required bold investments in equipment that is vital to these towns’ reputations and competitiveness on the national “market”. The most well-known towns now boast an often-original architectural heritage.
In Divonne, at the turn of the 20th century, the thermal equipment inherited from the previous century meant that urban developments and decisive political decisions needs to be carried out by contemporary decision makers. After the war, the new municipality that Marcel Anthonioz led until his death in 1976 set out a policy to relaunch the thermal resort. This represented a radical change in terms of how thermal treatment seekers were welcomed as well as for the resort’s touristic policy. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville, “A tour of the town”)
read more
History & Heritage

Casino

The opening of casinos has been restricted to thermal and seaside resorts since 1907. After the war, the newly elected mayor (Marcel Anthonioz) wanted to revive the thermal resort and this resulted in the reopening of a casino that quickly became one of the largest casinos in France. Initially established in the hallway of the Hôtel du Golf, the casino was later moved to the Grand Hôtel (which had been expanded for this purpose) in 1955. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville, “A tour of the town”)

read more
History & Heritage

André Dussolier theatre

At the end of the 19th century, this thermal and “fun” city started specialising buildings according to their functions: entertainment, shows and games, which used to be provided in hotel halls, were moved to theatres and casinos. This building, which was built in 1904 in a Rococo style with stucco decor, is still a cultural location, owned by the company Domaine de Divonne-les-Bains. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville, “A tour of the town”)

read more
Lakes & Rivers

Thermal sources

At the origin of the city’s thermalism and economic rise, thirty sources are scattered around the Divonne. These sources can be divided into five categories: Vaucluse sources, tufa sources, mineral sources and Divonne sources, which can be seen here in three separate upsurges:

  • The Vidart source, in tribute to Paul Vidart, the founder of the Thermal resort built in 1849.
  • The Emma source, named after the founder’s wife.
  • The Ausone source, which springs under the casino.

Used for their hydrotherapy properties, they contributed towards the city’s fame and have inspired many legends, including the legend of Sylvia.
read more
History & Heritage

Old thermal baths (Town hall)

Functional, modern and medicalised, the new thermal establishment was built in 1962 with funds from the Company operating the Casino and was managed by the municipality. The establishment’s construction marked a turn in how the city’s thermal activity was managed, and more generally in the new policy to revive the resort. The building was remodelled to house the town hall in the 1980s. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville, “A tour of the town”)

read more
History & Heritage

Hôtel du Golf

In the period between the two wars, the establishment of the League of Nations in Geneva and the city’s classification as a “hydromineral and climate resort” revive the resort, which starts welcoming a customer base comprised of diplomats and foreign figures. The golf course and the modern hotel (use of reinforced concrete) were constructed in 1930. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville, “A tour of the town”)

read more
History & Heritage

Former Hôtel Chicago

The Grand Hôtel is one of the largest hotels in the former private domain of the Anonymous Society of les Bains de Divonne. Now called the Hôtel Chicago after its American clientele, it was built between 1906 and 1908. At the time, it offered a wide range of “modern” services and suites with several rooms. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville, “A tour of the town”)

read more
History & Heritage

Villa Roland

As true promoters of thermal cities, organisers of treatment protocols and directors of thermal establishments, doctors were the initiators of water cities (along with their financial backers). The villa belonging to Dr. Roland - a doctor in Divonne up until 1925 - is located in the middle of a park designed to “enchant those undergoing treatment” and is now home to the thermal club. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville, “A tour of the town”)

read more
History & Heritage

Old diamond workshop

The many forebays, gates and dams - some of which still exist - in the centre of Divonne served to power local craftmanship, sawmills, papermills and diamond- and fine gemstone-cutting workshops. Diamond working - which was closely tied to the clockmaking industry - appeared during the 18th century and first developed in the High-Jura before settling in the city in the early 20th century. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville, “A tour of the town”)

read more
History & Heritage

Temple

During the 17th century, the Gex protestants were urged to convert to Catholicism. The Divonne temple - like the other 21 temples in the Pays de Gex - was destroyed in 1662 on the orders of King Louis XIV. In Divonne, one temple was rebuilt in 1870 to satisfy the widespread religion of the new treatment clientele. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville, “A tour of the town”)

read more
History & Heritage

Villa Beaulieu (Maison Grevaz)

This villa built in the 18th century in neo-classical style is listed on the Complementary Inventory of Historical Monuments (1994). With economy being redirected towards thermalism during the 19th century, several crafts activities using hydropower developed in sync with trends, needs and areas of craft influence. Thus, the paper industry, imported from Savoie, was a flourishing activity in Divonne and in Switzerland, all along the Versoix. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville, “A tour of the town”)

read more
History & Heritage

Church

Debates on the revival of places of worship and sacred arts led to renovations or redevelopments of their interior during the second half of the 20th century. The church’s new clocktower was built in 1954 based on the design of architect Maurice Novarina. The bronze statue of the Virgin Mary (Notre-Dame de la Paix), designed by artist Jacques Martin, was made by the Susse foundry, a leading French art foundry. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville, “A tour of the town”)

read more
History & Heritage

Nautical centre

The 1960s were marked by the general promotion of sports activities. In Divonne, the economic consequences of the casino allowed Marcel Anthonioz’s municipality to consider developing new leisure facilities within the city. The architect Maurice Novarina from Savoie was charged with drawing up the plans for the nautical centre with an Olympic pool, a diving board, a paved terrace, a park and a restaurant. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville, “A tour of the town”)

read more
Lakes & Rivers

Divonne lake

As part of a project developed by the company studying the artificial lake of Divonne, and driven by Jean Debaud - a Divonne painter and landscaper -, the lake was created on the top of former marshlands and filled with water in 1964; this lake, with its port, beach and nautical club, completes the city’s leisure facilities and changes its landscape. The materials extracted from the lake were used in part to fill in the land in the hippodrome, which was constructed one year after the lake was filled with water. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville, “A tour of the town”)

read more
History & Heritage

View over the Château de Divonne

The first remnants of this fortified structure, whose walls are still standing, date back to the 11th century. Taken apart, rebuilt and redeveloped many time by many owners, the Château de Divonne has looked the way it does today since the 19th century after works by its then-owner the Count Louis de la Forest, but fell victim to a fire that completely destroyed its roof on 18 January 2017.

read more
History & Heritage

Maison Ernst

The architecture found in thermal cities is often qualified as eclectic as it borrows from several architectural traditions, combining a variety of historic sources (antique, gothic, baroque, etc.), references to oriental architecture and local or picturesque influences (Anglo-Norman style). This taste for the “picturesque” led to a rediscovery of wood in construction. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville, “A tour of the town”)

read more
History & Heritage

Micro hydropower plant

At the end of the 19th century, Divonne-les-Bains was a pioneer in the production of electricity. This hydropower plant was built in a former mill (Moulin David) in 1887. Alongside another plant that no longer exists, it provided electricity for public and domestic lighting, but also for the large hotels, the golf course, the theatre and the city’s thermal baths. It continued operating until 1960 before being restructured and brought up to standards by an association of volunteers, Divonnelectro. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville, “A tour of the town”)

read more
Lakes & Rivers

Along the Divonne

The Divonne river - known as the Versoix river on the other side of the Swiss border - provided a continuous source of energy from the Middle Ages to the 20th century, powering hemp beater mills, grain mills and forge hammers for mainly local production. Along the river, industrial forebays were also developed and used for the large paper manufacturing industry. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville, “A tour of the town”)

read more

Description

From the Tourist Office, take Chemin des Cerisiers towards the casino.
Make a round trip on the little trail to your right, which enters a park and leads to Hôtel du Golf and Hôtel Chicago.
On returning to Chemin des Cerisiers, go under the bridge and reach the old thermal baths, before taking Avenue des Thermes.
Following the road, you will see Villa Roland to your left.
At the end of the avenue, take rue du Temple to your right. On arriving at the temple, which is after the cemetery, continue on rue du Prieuré, crossing the Divonne.
Continue straight across place de l’Église, place Perdtemps (Toilette) and avenue de la Plage to reach Divonne lake.
Head along the lake to the right, and then return to the road via rue du Port. When you reach Avenue des Alpes, cross the road and take the trail opposite you.  
At the end of this trail, turn left and take avenue Marcel Anthonioz.
At place des trois Fontaines, go around the park via avenue de la Gare and rue Voltaire.
You will then come to Place des 4 vents, where the hydroelectric plant is located. Between the plant and the Tourist Office, do not miss the glass construction which allows you to view one of the plant’s active installations.
From here, follow Grande Rue to Place du Bief, via allée de la Mélie to your left.
Cross the Divonne and return to the Tourist Office using the trail equipped with walkways and bridges over the river.

Departure : Tourist Office, Divonne-les-Bains
Arrival : Tourist Office, Divonne-les-Bains
Towns crossed : Divonne-Les-Bains

Recommandations

This discovery trail unfolds in an urban environment and carries hikers along pavements and pedestrian crossings.
Most parking spaces in the town centre may be in the blue zone, you will therefore need to obtain a parking disc.
Do not hesitate to head to the town’s Tourist Office, rue des Bains.


Information desks

Tourist information centre - Divonne-les-Bains

4 rue des Bains, F-01220 Divonne-les-Bains

http://www.divonnelesbains.com/fr/

+33 (0)4 50 20 01 22

Find out more

Transport

To visit and get about in the High-Jura, visit www.reshaut-jura.fr, the eco-mobility portal listing all means of transport within the Park.


Access and parking

20 km north of Geneva, Divonne-les-Bains is easily accessible via the A1 motorway, exiting on Route de Divonne.

Parking :

Tourist Office parking lot, 4, rue des Bains

Accessibility

Joëlettes (all-terrain one-wheeled chairs)
Pushchairs

Report a problem or an error

If you have found an error on this page or if you have noticed any problems during your hike, please report them to us here:

Divonne-les-Bains
Divonne-Les-Bains

Divonne-les-Bains

Histoire et Patrimoine
Facile
1h30
4,2km
+43m
-43m
Boucle
PR®
Embarquer cet élément afin d'y avoir accès hors connexion
Du centre chargé d'histoire, en passant par des villas d'architectes et des bâtiments emblématiques, ce tour en ville vous mènera aux abords aménagés du lac de Divonne, avec une vue sur les Alpes.
"Salut, source d'origine mystérieuse, sacrée,
nourricière, éternelle,
transparente, verte, profonde, chantante, limpide, ombreuse!
Salut, génie de la ville, breuvage curatif,
Divona en langue celte, source d'ordre divin !"
(Ausone, poète du 4ème siècle qui donna son nom à l'une des nombreuses sources)

Les 18 patrimoines à découvrir
Histoire et Patrimoine

Divonne-les-Bains

Les villes thermales, en tant qu'entreprises, ont nécessité des investissements parfois audacieux dans des équipements indispensables à la réputation et à la compétitivité, sur le "marché" national, des villes d'eaux. Les plus réputées d'entre elles se targuent aujourd'hui d'un patrimoine architectural souvent original.
À Divonne, au tournant du XXème siècle, le legs des équipements thermaux du siècle dernier a obligé à des réaménagements urbains et à des choix politiques déterminants de la part des décideurs contemporains. Après-guerre, la nouvelle municipalité de Marcel Anthonioz, qu'il dirigea jusqu'à sa mort en 1976, s'employa à une politique de relance de la station thermale. Un tournant radical quant aux modalités d'accueil des curistes et à la politique touristique de la Station. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville)
lire la suite
Histoire et Patrimoine

Casino

L'ouverture des casinos est réservée aux seules stations thermales et balnéaires depuis 1907. Après-guerre, la volonté de relance de la station thermale par le maire nouvellement élu (Marcel Anthonioz) aboutit à la réouverture d'un casino qui se classe rapidement parmi les plus importants casinos français. D'abord aménagé dans le hall de l'Hôtel du Golf, le casino est transféré en 1955 dans le Grand Hôtel, agrandi pour l'occasion. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville)
lire la suite
Histoire et Patrimoine

Théâtre André Dussolier

À la fin du XIXème siècle, la ville thermale et "ludique" opère une spécialisation des bâtiments selon les fonctions : les distractions, les spectacles et les parties de jeux, d'abord proposés dans les halls d'hôtels, se pratiqueront ensuite dans des théâtres et des casinos. Construit en 1904 dans un style "rococo" aux décors de stucs, l'édifice est encore aujourd'hui un lieu culturel, propriété de la société du Domaine de Divonne-les-Bains. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville)
lire la suite
Lacs et Rivières

Les sources thermales

À l'origine du thermalisme et de l'essor économique de la ville, trente sources jaillissent autour de la Divonne. Elles peuvent être différenciées en cinq catégories : les sources vauclusiennes, les sources tufières, les sources minérales et les sources de Divonne, que l'on peut observer ici avec trois résurgences différentes :
  • La source Vidart, en hommage à Paul Vidart, le fondateur de la station Thermale, construite en 1849.
  • La source Emma, qui tire son nom de celui de l'épouse du fondateur.
  • La source Ausone qui jaillit sous le casino.

Exploitées pour leur vertu hydrothérapique, elles ont participé à la renommée de la ville et elles ont inspiré des légendes, telle que la légende de Sylvia.
lire la suite
Histoire et Patrimoine

Anciennes Thermes (Hôtel de Ville)

Fonctionnel, moderne et médicalisé, le nouvel établissement thermal fut construit en 1962 grâce aux fonds de la Société d'exploitation du Casino et géré par la municipalité. La construction de l'établissement marqua un tournant dans le mode de gestion de l'activité thermale de la ville, et plus largement dans la nouvelle politique de relance de la station. Le bâtiment fut réaménagé pour accueillir l'Hôtel de Ville dans les années 1980. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville)
lire la suite
Histoire et Patrimoine

Hôtel du Golf

Entre les deux guerres, l'implantation de la Société des Nations à Genève et le classement de la ville en "station hydrominérale et climatique" profitèrent au renouveau de la station, qui accueillait désormais une clientèle de diplomates et de personnalités étrangères. L'aménagement d'un terrain de golf et d'un hôtel de facture moderne (utilisation du béton armé) datent des années 1930. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville)
lire la suite
Histoire et Patrimoine

Ancien Hôtel Chicago

Le Grand Hôtel, un des plus imposants de l'ancien domaine privé de la Société Anonyme des Bains de Divonne. Devenu l'Hôtel Chicago compte tenu de sa clientèle américaine, il fut construit entre 1906 et 1908. Il proposait un grand nombre de services "modernes" et des appartements de plusieurs pièces. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville)
lire la suite
Histoire et Patrimoine

Villa Roland

Véritables promoteurs des villes thermales, organisateurs des protocoles de cure, directeurs des établissements thermaux, les médecins furent, avec les investisseurs financiers, les instigateurs des villes d'eaux. La villa du Dr Roland, médecin à Divonne jusqu'en 1925, au milieu d'un parc conçu pour "l'enchantement des curistes", abrite aujourd'hui le club thermal. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville)
lire la suite
Histoire et Patrimoine

Ancien atelier de diamanterie

Les nombreux biefs, vannes et barrages, dont il reste quelques témoins dans le centre de Divonne, alimentaient l'artisanat local, les nombreuses scieries, les papeteries, mais aussi les ateliers de taille de diamants et pierres fines. La diamanterie, liée à l'industrie horlogère, introduite dès le XVIIIème siècle, s'est d'abord développée dans le Haut-Jura avant de s'installer dans la ville au début du XXème siècle. (PNRHJ - Un tour en Ville)
lire la suite
Histoire et Patrimoine

Temple

Au XVIIème siècle, les protestants gessiens furent exhortés à se convertir à la religion catholique. Le temple de Divonne, à l'instar de 21 autres temples du Pays de Gex, fut détruit en 1662 sur ordre du roi Louis XIV. À Divonne, un temple fut reconstruit en 1870 pour satisfaire la pratique d'un culte répandue parmi la nouvelle clientèle de curistes. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville)
lire la suite
Histoire et Patrimoine

Villa Beaulieu (Maison Grevaz)

Villa du XVIIIème siècle de style néo-classique inscrite à l'Inventaire supplémentaire des Monuments Historiques (1994). Avant la réorientation économique du XIXème siècle vers le thermalisme, plusieurs activités artisanales utilisant la force hydraulique se sont succédées au fil des modes, des besoins et des aires d'influences artisanales. Ainsi, la papeterie, importée de Savoie, fut une industrie florissante à Divonne et en Suisse, le long de la Versoix. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville)
lire la suite
Histoire et Patrimoine

Église

Les débats sur le renouveau des lieux de culte et de l'art sacré dans la seconde moitié du XXème siècle ont donné lieu à des rénovations ou à des réaménagements des espaces intérieurs. Le nouveau clocher de l'église fut dressé en 1954 sur les plans de l'architecte Maurice Novarina. La statue en bronze de la Vierge (Notre-Dame de la Paix), conçue par l'artiste Jacques Martin, fut réalisée par la fonderie Susse, une importante fonderie d'art en France. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville)
lire la suite
Histoire et Patrimoine

Centre Nautique

Les années 60 sont marquées par un effort global en faveur des pratiques sportives. À Divonne, les retombées économiques du casino permirent à la municipalité de Marcel Anthonioz d'envisager de doter la ville de nouveaux équipements de loisirs. C'est l'architecte savoyard Maurice Novarina qui réalisa les plans du centre nautique bassin olympique, plongeoir, terrasse dallée, parc et restaurant. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville)
lire la suite
Lacs et Rivières

Lac de Divonne

Projet imaginé par la société d'étude du lac artificiel de Divonne et porté par Jean Debaud, peintre et paysagiste divonnais, le lac fut aménagé sur d'anciens marais et mis en eau en 1964; avec un port, une plage et un club nautique, le lac vient compléter les équipements de loisirs de la ville et en modifier le paysage. Les matériaux extraits du lac servirent en partie à remblayer le terrain de l'hippodrome, aménagé un an après la mise en eau du lac. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville)
lire la suite
Histoire et Patrimoine

Vue sur le château de Divonne

Les premières traces d'un ouvrage fortifié , dont il subsiste aujourd'hui encore les murs, datent du XIème siècle. Plusieurs fois démantelé, reconstruit et réaménagé par ses nombreux propriétaires, le château de Divonne garda son aspect actuel depuis le XIXème siècle par les travaux de son propriétaire, le comte Louis de la Forest, avant de connaître un incendie qui détruisit complètement la toiture le 18 janvier 2017.
lire la suite
Histoire et Patrimoine

Maison Ernst

L'architecture des villes thermales est souvent qualifiée d'éclectique en tant qu'elle emprunta des références à diverses traditions architecturales, en mêlant sources historiques (antiques, gothiques, baroques...),références à l'architecture orientale et influences locales ou pittoresques (le style anglo-normand). Le goût du "pittoresque" s'est traduit par la redécouverte du matériau bois dans la construction. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville)
lire la suite
Histoire et Patrimoine

Micro-centrale hydroélectrique

À la fin du 19ème siècle, Divonne-les-Bains a été pionnière dans la production d'électricité. Cette usine hydroélectrique fut aménagée dans un ancien moulin (le moulin David) en 1887. Avec une autre usine aujourd'hui disparue, elles alimentaient en électricité l'éclairage public, domestique mais aussi les Grands hôtels, le Golf, le théâtre et les thermes de la ville. Elle resta en service jusqu'en 1960 puis elle fit l'objet d'une restauration et d'une remise aux normes par une association de bénévoles, Divonnelectro. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville)
lire la suite
Lacs et Rivières

Le long de la Divonne

La rivière de la Divonne, qui prend le nom de la Versoix en passant la frontière franco-suisse, fut une source énergétique ininterrompue du Moyen Age jusqu'au 20 ème siècle, alimentant des battoirs à chanvre, moulins à grains, marteaux de forge pour une production essentiellement locale. Également aménagée en biefs industriels, elle servit à l'importante production de papier. (PNRHJ - Un tour en ville)
lire la suite

Description

Depuis l'Office de Tourisme, prendre le Chemin des Cerisiers qui mène au casino.
Faire un aller-retour par le petit sentier sur la droite qui entre dans un parc afin de trouver l'Hôtel du Golf et l'Hôtel Chicago.
De retour sur le Chemin des Cerisiers, passer sous le pont pour rejoindre les anciennes thermes puis prendre l'Avenue des Thermes.
En suivant la route, vous trouverez la Villa Roland sur la gauche.
Au bout de l'avenue, prendre la rue du Temple à droite. Arrivés au temple qui se trouve après le cimetière, continuer sur la rue du Prieuré qui traverse la Divonne.
Continuer tout droit par la place de l'Église, la place Perdtemps et l'avenue de la Plage pour rejoindre le Lac de Divonne.
Longer le lac par la droite, puis rejoindre la route par la rue du Port. Arrivés sur l'Avenue des Alpes, la traverser et prendre le sentier que l'on peut apercevoir en face.  
Au bout de ce sentier, tourner à gauche et prendre l'avenue Marcel Anthonioz.
À la place des trois Fontaines, contourner le parc par l'avenue de la Gare et la rue Voltaire.
Vous arriverez ensuite à la Place des 4 vents, où se trouve la centrale hydroélectrique. Entre celle-ci et l'Office de Tourisme, ne manquez pas la construction vitrée qui permet d'observer une installation de la centrale en activité.
D'ici, suivre la Grande Rue et rejoindre la place du Bief par l'allée de la Mélie située sur la gauche.
Traverser la Divonne et rejoindre l'Office de Tourisme par le sentier aménagé de passerelles et de ponts au-dessus de la rivière.

Départ : Office de tourisme, Divonne-les-Bains
Arrivée : Office de tourisme, Divonne-les-Bains
Communes traversées : Divonne-Les-Bains

Recommandations

Ce sentier de découverte s'inscrit dans un milieu urbain et amène à emprunter les trottoirs et les passages piétons.
Les places de parking du centre-ville peuvent être en zone bleue, un disque de stationnement est donc à prévoir.
N'hésitez pas à vous rendre à l'Office de Tourisme de la ville, situé rue des Bains.

Lieux de renseignement

Office de Tourisme Divonne-les-Bains

4 rue des Bains, F-01220 Divonne-les-Bains

http://www.divonnelesbains.com/fr/

+33 (0)4 50 20 01 22

En savoir plus

Accès routiers et parkings

À 20 km au nord de Genève, Divonne-les-Bains est facilement accessible par l'autoroute A1, en sortant par la Route de Divonne.

Stationnement :

Parking de l'Office de Tourisme, 4, rue des Bains

Accessibilité

Joëlette
Poussette

Signaler un problème ou une erreur

Vous avez repéré une erreur sur cette page ou constaté un problème lors de votre randonnée, signalez-les nous ici :